More on Policy and Legislation

MedPAC appointments announced

The U.S. Government Accountability Office (GAO) announced last week the appointment of five new members and the reappointment of one existing member to the Medicare Payment Advisory Commission (MedPAC). The official announcement will be published in the Federal Register.

The newly appointed members are Alice Coombs, MD, critical care specialist and anesthesiologist, South Shore Hospital, Weymouth, Mass.; Jack Hoadley, PhD, research professor, Health Policy Institute, Georgetown University, Washington, D.C.; David Nerenz, PhD, director of the Center for Health Policy and Health Services Research, Henry Ford Health System, Detroit, Mich.; Rita Redberg, MD, professor, clinical medicine, University of California at San Francisco Medical Center, San Francisco; and Craig Samitt, MD, president and CEO, Dean Health System, Madison, Wis. Their terms will expire in April 2015.

Congress established MedPAC in 1997 to analyze access to care, cost and quality of care and other key issues affecting Medicare. MedPAC advises Congress on payments to health plans participating in the Medicare Advantage program and providers in Medicare's traditional fee-for-service programs.

"Medicare is one of the federal government's most significant responsibilities, and MedPAC has a significant role in ensuring responsible stewardship of this important program," said Gene L. Dodaro, comptroller general of the United States and head of the GAO, in a written statement. "We were fortunate to be able to consider many highly qualified applicants. The five new individuals selected this year bring impressive credentials to the commission."

Show All Comments